Skip to main content

Frenship High School

Three FISD Teachers Win 2019 Newton Excellence in Education Award

Frenship Independent School District is honored to announce that three teachers – Jennifer Brumley from Crestview Elementary, Paige Wood from Heritage Middle School, and Kelsey Taylor from Frenship High School – have been selected as winners of the Beaumont Foundation’s 2019 Newton Excellence in Education Award as part of the Foundation’s ongoing commitment to support education.

Brumley, Wood and Taylor will be honored during the Beaumont Foundation Awards Gala on Wednesday, May 15th at Texas Tech University’s McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center. Their recognition includes a $10,000 award.

According to the Beaumont Foundation website, the awards were created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning. The program provides public recognition and financial rewards to educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education.

In the ten years of the Newton Excellence in Education Award’s existence, Frenship ISD teachers have won 23 of the 30 available awards:


Jennifer Brumley (Crestview), Paige Wood (Heritage Middle School), Kelsey Taylor (FHS)


Brianne Katilus (FHS Ninth Grade Center), Honey Segrist (Bennett)


Karen Moorhead (Legacy), Connie Pfanmiller (FHS)


Wendy Reeves (North Ridge), Amy Baker (FHS)


Laura Buchanan (Westwind)


Julie Rogers (North Ridge), Laura Grace (Terra Vista), Altah Swindle (FHS)


Joy Burkhalter (Crestview), Cheryl Mosher (FMS)


Joy Field (Crestview), Karen Holt (FMS), Courtney Ferguson (FHS)


Karen Conder (Crestview), Jim Crites (FHS)


Saundra Wimberley (Crestview), Kris Janeway (Terra Vista), Janet Flusche (FHS)

Published Print